Urp!

March 23, 2007 at 6:30 pm 4 comments

I suffer from from seasickness. Not always, you know. Only when I am on the sea. Once, when I was an idiot teenager, I decided I could Dramamine my way through a cruise to Hawaii. The rest of the family was excited to take to an ocean trip, however my mother suggested I fly out a few days later and meet them. But did I listen? Noooo. I decided that the cruise would be more fun then spending four days with my grandparents, and, hey, Dramamine had always been at least moderately successful in a car or on a plane. So I took my Dramamine an hour before I walked up the gangplank.

I began to hurl before the boat left the harbor. For most of that day I lay on a deck chair, feeling horrible. No, I felt beyond horrible. I did not join the others for dinner in the dining room. I still couldn’t completely escape the smell or sight of food, however. The people on the ship would place food here, there, and everywhere! It was revolting.

When I had to enter my room that night, my stomach objected even more strenuously. It violently ejected every ounce of food it had ever contained. My body looked about for something else to eject, found some bile, and then gave in to the dry heaves. The next morning my mother decided I should visit the ship’s doctor. He gave me a glass of water, and I took a sip. The sip went down, then it came right back up, still cool and clear. So he pulled out a hypodermic needle and told me to drop my drawers (he may have phrased it differently). Afterward, he handed me a package of suppositories. Ah, memories. Oddly enough, that was my last sea voyage.

The memories of that cruise were gathering dust and cobwebs deep in the recesses of my mind until today, when I visited the Mayor of Mitchieville. You can visit by clicking here. Fair Warning: You might want to take a Dramamine first.

Entry filed under: news.

Anyone can run for president American Idol Loser Song

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HayZeus  |  March 24, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Wow, that sounds like a lovely trip… or something… 😕

    Reply
  • 2. skinbad  |  March 26, 2007 at 9:02 am

    I went scuba diving on a dive boat for 3-4 days in my late teens. I was OK for the first couple of days and then it came. Wow. I remember that if I looked up at the sky I was OK. If I looked down, though, an incredible “wave” of nausea would hit me. I didn’t hurl, but I kept my eyes on the sky the last day.

    Reply
  • 3. Pupster  |  March 26, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    I’ve always been susceptible to motion sickness, but I was able to get through a 3 day Bahamas cruise by getting drunk before boarding and staying drunk the whole time. There is always a bar open on a cruise ship…it’s the law or something.

    I couldn’t really feel the boat moving, but the morning of day 2 I looked down in the shower, and the water was rocking back and forth…back and forth…that almost got me.

    I read an apt description of sea sickness, at first you think you are going to die, then you hope so.

    Reply
  • 4. Elzbth  |  March 27, 2007 at 1:38 am

    That description is extremely apt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 197,411 hits

