Dave in Texas Reminisces

March 12, 2007 at 4:49 pm 4 comments

Dave in Texas fondly remembers the time that he and some buddies went rattlesnake hunting in the great outdoors, brave lads armed with nothing but high hopes and kerosene. Read about it here.

His story reminded me of the time one of my cats killed a scorpion in the living room. I had not witnessed the epic battle, so when I entered the room and noticed a scorpion standing on the carpet near the fireplace I did not know the nasty thing was already dead. I took the opportunity to screech like a girl. Then I swatted it a few times with a broom. Its failure to object to either of these activities indicated that it had already gone to the big scorpion pit in the sky. So I used salad tongs to pick it up and drop it in the garbage can in the kitchen, which I then put outside. No sense in taking any chances.

Entry filed under: history, sports.

Party-Pooper Scientists Say No Time Travel for You! Anyone can run for president

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave in Texas  |  March 12, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    In 1908, a man in England receives a telegram from the White Star Lines, informing him that his mother in law, traveling to New York with his wife, has passed away.

    He cables back:

    THANK YOU STOP CREMATE THE BODY STOP BURY AT SEA STOP TAKE NO CHANCES

    Reply
  • 2. skinbad  |  March 13, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    You can screech like a girl. You’re entitled. Did you throw the salad tongs away?

    Reply
  • 3. Elzbth  |  March 13, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    I boiled them.

    Reply
  • 4. digitalbrownshirt  |  March 13, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    And then you threw them away?

    When I was a kid my baby sister told me there was a giant worm in our backyard. I went to check it out but all I found was a 6 foot rattlesnake.

    I’m glad she didn’t try bringing it to me instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 197,407 hits

