That was really annoying.

January 4, 2007 at 4:48 pm 5 comments

So I spent a portion of my day sitting in a local DMV office, just waiting for my number to come up. Every few seconds a recorded voice would make an announcement. “Now serving G-47 at window 11”, or “Now serving C-34 at window 19.” It was a female voice, syrupy sweet and overtly pleasant. In other words, it was creepy.

IT (the voice) instantly reminded me of HAL. IT was the female incarnation of HAL. I wouldn’t have been surprised to hear IT suddenly say , “I’m sorry, F-59, I’m afraid I can’t do that,” or “Just what do you think you are doing, A-12?” I had to listen to that voice for an hour or so. IT became really annoying…and IT was always creepy.

The original HAL (non-DMV version):

Entry filed under: random, weird, youtube.

Speaking of prisons in cold, snowy places The Mitchieville Link

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Enas Yorl  |  January 5, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    Okay, funny DMV story. One day I had to go in to do some damn thing or another and of course the huge long line of people who also chose that day to get their whatever done. It’s gonna be HOURS :-(. A few minutes go by and a DMV guy is walking down the line to see what everybody was there for, to check their papers and whatnot. He gets to me and ask me what I’m in for and looks over my stuff. He tells me I need another piece of paper to do the whateveritwas. I tell him it’s at home, so he gives me another piece of paper and says to go get it and when I come back I can go stand in a different line. About 20 minutes later I’m back and I go stand in a MUCH shorter line. I’m done and out the door in 5 minutes. 😀 BEST DMV VISIT EVER!!

    Reply
  • 2. Elzbth  |  January 5, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    That’s the first time I’ve ever heard a “lucky” story about the DMV. Nicely done, Enas.

    Does IT have a gig at the DMVs in Nevada?

    Reply
  • 3. Enas Yorl  |  January 5, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    The Voice. It’s been quite a while since I’ve been there, but yeah, I seem to remember it. The more I search my memory I think it replaced a “Ding” sound that announced the update to the display, or even accompanied it. It never bothered me.

    It might interest you to know that the majority of automated public annoucements and telephone & public computer accessed automated voice messaging systems in the U.S. use a women’s voice. Unless you choose the “Spanish” version. They almost exclusively use a man’s voice.

    Reply
  • 4. daveintexas  |  January 6, 2007 at 9:16 am

    It’s been asserted, but Clarke always denied it, that the letters in the acronym HAL, for Heuristically programmed Algorithmic Computer, were really chosen because each letter in HAL preceeds these three letters.

    I B M

    Reply
  • 5. harrison  |  January 7, 2007 at 10:23 am

    Computers get gas? Who knew?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 197,372 hits

