Tamale Time

September 25, 2006 at 8:02 pm 7 comments

Tamales are fantastic food.  If you have ever had them, you know how delicious they are.  If you have never had the opportunity to savor one, you must immediately correct this deficit.  Since I am feeling generous tonight, I will share my favorite tamale recipe with you.

I work with a very nice lady, who is vital to this recipe because of her auntie.  This auntie makes and sells some of the most delicious tamales you (meaning I, or anyone else lucky enough to eat them) will ever experience.  A few days before I actually require the tamales, I tell my friend how many and what kind of tamales (pork, chicken, beef,  or a combination of these varieties) I desire, and I give her $10.  On the appointed day, she brings 12 tamales to work, still warm! Each flavor-filled work of corn-husked art is wrapped in a bit of tinfoil, but the fragrance still fills the air. I take them home.  I can then serve the tamales with a salad and some dessert, which I have purchased from a bakery.  Damn, I am a good cook!

If you cannot follow my recipe for any reason, such as not being able to contact my coworker or her auntie, you can follow the recipe here:  making tamales from scratch

Good luck to you. Personally, I became tired just reading about it.  Oh, and don’t forget the tequila.

Entry filed under: food.

November’s Mysteries Where does he put it?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tamale link « Think Tankers  |  September 25, 2006 at 10:13 pm

    […] Recipe link here. […]

    Reply
  • 2. HayZeus  |  September 26, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    Mmmmm, I’ll have to check it out. I’m still a complete n00b when it comes to cooking Mexican!

    Reply
  • 3. Elzbth  |  September 26, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Well, if you are ever in California, let me know. I will let you use my favorite tamale recipe.

    Reply
  • 4. HayZeus  |  September 26, 2006 at 7:16 pm

    I don’t know what would bring me out to the west coast again (other than an insatiable desire for an In N’ Out burger) but if I am I will. I have a feeling it’s something along the lines of:
    1. Go to Costco
    2. Buy a big thing of tamales
    3. Cook them according to directions

    Reply
  • 5. Elzbth  |  September 26, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    Buy a big thing of tamales
    That is my second favorite recipe. Have fun!

    Reply
  • 6. HayZeus  |  September 26, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    Unfortunately, Costcos here on the east side don’t carry tamales. 😦
    On the bright side, they do sell taquitos out here and those are pretty yummy, especially when deep-fried.

    Reply
  • 7. Elzbth  |  September 26, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    taquitos are to tamales as Hershey bars are to Godiva chocolates

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 197,392 hits

