PBJ a la Retired Geezer

September 2, 2006 at 12:21 pm 20 comments

I once asked a question on another site, the name of which I do not recall. Some site that answers questions on a weekly basis, I believe. 

Anyway, I asked an extremely important food related question, “What is the best jam or jelly for a PBJ?”   The host gave an answer,  perhaps it was strawberry jam.  But the most interesting, possibly delicious, answer came from Retired Geezer, who suggested lemon curd. He then described the resulting flavor.  “Yum, yum,”  he claimed.  I didn’t believe him, but I decided to attempt this complicated recipe on the off-chance that his analysis was correct. 

It was.  Clearly, years of high living have created a PBJ connoisseur.  I suggest you try his recipe, so I have outlined the procedure below.

1.  Remove two pieces of bread from the plastic bag. 

2.  Smear peanut butter (crunchy or smooth, your choice) on one of the pieces.

3.  Smear lemon curd on the other piece.  Make sure you cover the piece of bread entirely.

4.  Put the pieces of bread together, gooey sides connecting.

5.  Cut the sandwich in half.

6.  Pour a glass of milk, and enjoy. : )

  + +

Entry filed under: food, recipes.

Pluto – rogue planet? The Blue Ridge Super Duper Spud Cannon

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HayZeus  |  September 2, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Oh so now I’m some guy you don’t even remember, huh? What did I do to deserve this treatment?! 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Elzbth  |  September 2, 2006 at 8:41 pm

    Oh, hello. Nice to meet you. You remind me of someone…

    Reply
  • 3. HayZeus  |  September 2, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    You’re asking for it, missy.

    Reply
  • 4. Elzbth  |  September 2, 2006 at 9:11 pm

    Oh, NOW I am interested.

     Does this mean you are going to answer my questions?

    Reply
  • 5. HayZeus  |  September 2, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    Don’t I always? 😀

    Reply
  • 6. Enas Yorl  |  September 2, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    What’s lemon curd? I’ve never heard of it. I can’t remember the last time I even had a PBJ.

    Reply
  • 7. Elzbth  |  September 3, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Lemon curd is a yellow substance that comes in a jar. It’s natural habitat is the jam and jelly section of the supermarket. I had never paid any attention to it prior to RG’s recommendation. Give it a try, Enas Yorl.

    And, yes, stranger, I suppose you do answer my questions.

    Reply
  • 8. HayZeus  |  September 3, 2006 at 8:55 am

    Shocking, I know.

    So, how’s the weather in Cali? 😉

    Reply
  • 9. Elzbth  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:14 am

    Absolutely dry and currently 86 lovely degrees. It’s becoming hotter by the moment.  I am jealous of your rain.

    Reply
  • 10. HayZeus  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:16 am

    We’re a little wetter and colder over on the other coast here but it’s turning out to be beautiful here as well. Good stuff.

    Reply
  • 11. Elzbth  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:26 am

    I have the feeling your side of the continent will have a more “beautiful” day. I’m not that fond of frying eggs on the sidewalk. On the plus side, this winter you will be slogging through the snow in layers of clothing while I am walking around in a t-shirt. That would be a plus for my side.

    Reply
  • 12. HayZeus  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:35 am

    Awww, but seasons do have their charms. A lil’ snow can be FUN every now and then! The whole cutting a bunch of firewood to keep the house warm in winter… not so much.

    Reply
  • 13. Elzbth  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:57 am

    We have seasons, too. We have the hot season and the not-as-hot season. But we don’t have the lovely-warm- fire-in-the-fireplace season, so that advantage is yours.

    Reply
  • 14. Retired Geezer  |  September 3, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    5. Cut the sandwich in half.

    Diagonally or straight?

    I believe the esoteric qualities of Lemon Curd require the diagonal cut.
    Agreed?

    Reply
  • 15. Elzbth  |  September 3, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    Agreed. And done.

    Reply
  • 16. goodhairday  |  September 3, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    Is this Elvis’ recipe?

    Reply
  • 17. Elzbth  |  September 3, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    Can’t be. No bananas

    Reply
  • 18. daveintexas  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:44 pm

    grape.

    I don’t know why this is do difficult.

    Reply
  • 19. daveintexas  |  September 3, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    except fot they typing.

    “so”

    Reply
  • 20. Elzbth  |  September 4, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    Give the lemon curd a try, Dave in Texas. Live a little. It’s great for a post-cannonball snack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 197,364 hits

