Eight Is Enough

August 24, 2006 at 9:46 pm 2 comments

The International Astronomical Union has decided upon a new definition for the word “planet”. The new definition states that a planet must “clear the neighborhood around its orbit.” This was bad news for Pluto, as it’s  orbit overlaps Neptune’s.  Therefore, Pluto has been demoted!  So we are back to our pre-1930 total of eight planets.

Of the 2,500 astronomers who attended the conference in Prague, 300 actually showed up to vote. Those 300 officious and scornful astronomers stripped Pluto of it’s planetary status, and announced a new category.  Pluto has been demoted to  “dwarf planet”.  I’m confused.  Isn’t a “dwarf planet” still a planet?  A “miniature poodle” is still a poodle.  I suppose Pluto is now yappier and has a tendency to piddle on the floor.

Do you remember learning the list of planets in elementary school? Of course you do.  Try saying it now. Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune…*comes to a screeching halt*.  It just sounds wrong.

Kill-joy astronomers.


Entry filed under: current events, news.

Boy Scout Rescue express yourself

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 197,469 hits

%d bloggers like this: