Awwwww

August 16, 2006 at 6:50 pm 2 comments

Scientist have discovered that baby bats like to babble.  Infant humans and bats are the only two critters that engage in this behavior.

babbling bat babies

The bat is a much maligned creature which needs a better press agent.  I have always felt that bats were unfairly belittled and besmirched. 

Well, to be honest, I rarely think about them.  However once, in my youth, a teacher required the members of my class to memorize a poem and recite it before our fellow students.  Teachers do these things to keep their students  humble.  I memorized a poem about  bats, and I still remember it all these years later.  Ahem *clears throat*

                                                                                    

The Bat

by Ogden Nash

Myself, I rather like the bat

It’s not a bird, it’s not a rat

It has no feathers, yet has wings

It’s quite inaudible when it sings

It zigzags through the evening air

and never lands on ladies’ hair

A fact of which men spend their lives

Attempting to convince their wives.

Thank you, thank you very much.

Entry filed under: science.

Cynthia McKinney Sings! Surprising Development: Wife Claims Husband is Not Guilty

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. http://crabapple.cc  |  August 16, 2006 at 8:43 pm

    The Bat

    Spreading the mad blog hits to bat-lovers everywhere since 2006

    Reply
  • 2. Retired Geezer  |  August 18, 2006 at 2:40 pm

    I heart Ogden Nash.
    I like your new header too.
    Sorry I haven’t been by to visit much lately.
    You may have heard my Grandkids were here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 197,364 hits

